ACT trumps Tonga in PRC

The ACT XV has run away with a convincing win over the Tongan A side on Thursday night at Viking Park, 62-12. It’s the team’s second big win in a week after running in 50 points again Samoa A last Friday night.

Led by skipper and opening try-scorer Colby Faingaa, the ACT laid on 10 tries to have a comfortable 40 point lead at half time. Doubles to Etienne Oosthuizen, Tom Cox, Faingaa and Stephan Van Der Walt showed the ACT side’s intent to attack from anywhere around the park.

Oosthuizen was among the ACT’s best, along with Leon Power who called the shots in the line-out.

Scrumhalf Mark Swanepoel was busy all afternoon while Zack Holmes controlled play nicely from flyhalf, giving his outside backs plenty of opportunity to attack.

Tonga was the first to register points after the break, but that try was quickly answered by flyer Tom Cox who planted the ball under the cross bar.

More tries to Faingaa, Oosthuizen and Van Der Walt followed, with the locals racking up a nice gap over the Tongans that would not be threatened.

One downside for the ACT XV side was the short-lived return of Pat McCabe, who left the field after 35 minutes with hamstring tightness. The Wallabies centre will have tests done on Friday to assess any possible damage.

Thursday afternoon's match was the last of the Pacific Rugby Cup.

ACT XV 62 (Stephan Van Der Walt 2, Etienne Oosthuizen 2, Colby Faingaa 2, Tom Cox 2, Mark Swanepoel, Jordan Rapana tries; Zack Holmes 6 cons) bt TONGA A 12.

1. Ruaidhri Murphy
2. Robbie Abel
3. Ruan Smith
4. Etienne Oosthuizen
5. Leon Power
6. Jordan Smiler
7. Colby Faingaa (C)
8. Tim Cree
9. Mark Swanepoel
10. Zack Holmes (VC)
11. Stephan Van Der Walt
12. Rodney Iona
13. Jordan Rapana
14. Tom Cox
15. Pat McCabe

16. Josh Mann-Rea
17. Ray Dobson
18. Les Makin
19. Gareth Clouston
20. Ben McGee
21. Beau Mokotupu
22. Sam Windsor
23. Andrew Barrell