Team named to face the Bulls in Pretoria

The University of Canberra Brumbies have named their side to take on the Bulls in Pretoria this Saturday with just two changes to the team that beat the Rebels last weekend.

Andrew Smith and Ben Alexander have been called back into the starting side with rookie tourists Tevita Kuridrani and Ruaidhri Murphy moving back to the bench.

Head Coach Jake White said his young side would need to show maturity beyond its years, with just nine of the 22 players named having played against the Bulls previously.

“This is a big occasion for a young side like this, the Bulls crowd is one of the most vocal of the Super Rugby competition so it will be a huge test for them to block that out,” White said.

“We’ve had a good week of preparation on the High Veldt and recovered nicely from the flight over so there won’t be any excuses there.

“This will be our toughest battle of the year. The Bulls are a strong team with Springboks right across the park. But we will be in this match to the end, it should be a fantastic game of rugby.”

It will be a special occasion for fly-half Christian Lealiifano, who knocks up his 50th Brumbies Rugby cap in Pretoria. Skipper Ben Mowen will also reach 50 caps having previously represented the NSW Waratahs and the Queensland Reds.

University of Canberra Brumbies
1.    Ben Alexander
2.    Stephen Moore
3.    Dan Palmer
4.    Scott Fardy
5.    Sam Carter
6.    Ben Mowen (c)
7.    Michael Hooper
8.    Fotu Auelua
9.    Nic White
10.    Christian Lealiifano
11.    Joe Tomane
12.    Pat McCabe
13.    Andrew Smith
14.    Henry Speight
15.    Jesse Mogg

16.    Anthony Hegarty
17.    Ruaidhri Murphy
18.    Peter Kimlin
19.    Ita Vaea
20.    Ian Prior
21.    Robbie Coleman
22.    Tevita Kuridrani