Eight ACT players picked for Combined States team

The ACT Under 20s are celebrating after eight players were selected for the Combined States team to contest the Australian Championships.

Having climbed through the South Australian state team in Adelaide last week to the tune of 90 points, the ACT Under 20s were always hopeful of a strong representation, with Tuggeranong Vikings producing half of the Canberra players selected.

Royals had two players each while Easts and Uni-Norths will both supply one player each for the Combined States team.

Conal McInerney, Joel Penders, Tom Staniforth, Joseph Powell, Andrew Robinson, Rowan Perry, Jason Tomane and Allan Alalaatoa were all picked for the Combined States team from the ACT 20s.

Of those, McInerney, Staniforth, Robinson, Tomane and Alaalatoa have already represented Australia or Australia A at schools or Under 20s level.

Alaalatoa is contracted to the UC Brumbies under an EPS arrangement in 2014 and will be looking to cement his place amongst Australia’s most gifted aged-grade representatives.

Like Staniforth, Alaalatoa was part of the 2013 Australian Under 20s side, which competed at the Junior World Cup in France.

The Australian Championships will be held in Canberra between March 22-26, with games to be played at Viking Park

2014 Junior World Cup will take place in New Zealand later this year.

Conal McInerney ACT
Joel Penders ACT
Tom Staniforth ACT
Joseph Powell ACT
Andrew Robinson ACT
Rowan Perry ACT
Jason Tomane ACT
Allan Alalaatoa ACT

Fereti Sa’aga Vic
Ta Hosea Vic
Patolo Toeta Vic
Lalakai Foketi Vic
Angus Arundel Vic
Sean McMahon Vic
Adam Gauder Qld Country
Jack Finigan Qld Country
Harry Scoble WA
Corey Thomas WA
Kane Koteka WA
Ross Haylett-Petty WA
Angus Taylor WA
Luke Burton WA
Brad Lacy WA
Tim Koiatu WA
Oscar Backhouse WA