Four Brumbies Prepare For Rugby Championship

by Brumbies Media

Four University of Canberra Brumbies players have been picked for the Rugby Championship, to be contested against South Africa, New Zealand and Argentina over the next two months.

Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Michael Hooper and Nic White will all take part in the tournament, with White the only player in the Brumbies quartet who hasn’t represented the Wallabies in the past.

With Scott Fardy, Sam Carter, Christian Lealiifano, Dan Palmer, Pat McCabe and Joe Tomane all recovering from injury or surgery, the majority of the Wallabies squad has been drawn from other provinces.

The Rugby Championship will play out as follows.

Bledisloe Cup – #1

(i) August 18: Qantas Wallabies v New Zealand, Sydney (ANZ), 8pmAugust 18: South Africa v Argentina, Cape Town

Bledisloe Cup – #2(ii) August 25: Qantas Wallabies v New Zealand, Auckland, 7.35pmAugust 25: Argentina v South Africa, Mendoza

Mandela Challenge Plate – #1(iii) September 8: Qantas Wallabies v South Africa, Perth, 6.30pmSeptember 8: New Zealand v Argentina, Wellington

(iv) September 15: Qantas Wallabies v Argentina, Gold Coast, 8pmSeptember 15: New Zealand v South Africa, Dunedin

Mandela Challenge Plate – #2(v) September 29: Qantas Wallabies v South Africa, Pretoria, 3pmSeptember 29: Argentina v New Zealand, La Plata

(vi) October 6: Qantas Wallabies v Argentina, Rosario, 8pm

October 6: South Africa v New Zealand, Soweto