ACT women recognised with national selections

by Brumbies Media

The ACT women have been rewarded for a strong national tournament with Australian selections.

Shellie Milward, Amy Carpenter, Louise Burrows and Michelle Perry have been picked for the Australian Wallaroos after impressing for the ACT at the National Championships two weeks ago.

Carpenter has also been called into the Sevens squad which will assemble after the 15’s.

The women’s team finished the tournament with two wins, a draw and a close loss to Sydney.

Day 1 – 26/09/2013

ACT 41 v Victoria 6

Tries – Louise Burrows, Kate Brown, Amy Carpenter (2), Sarah Riordan, Nikki Stanley, Kelly Goodwin

Conversions – Bec Maher (2)

ACT 5 v Sydney 17

Tries – Michelle Perry

Day 2 – 27/09/2013

ACT 58  v South Australia 0

Tries – Kate Brown, Kamila Wihongi, Michelle Perry, Shelley Bradshaw, Sarah Riordan (2), Tayla Stanford, Cassy Van Rythoven, Kelly Goodwin (2)

Conversions – Nikki Ayers (2), Tayla Stanford (2)

Day 3 – Finals – 28/09/2013

Western Australia 15  v ACT 15

Play off for 3rd place. Draw meant that ACT came equal 3rd with WA

Tries – Kate Brown, Amy Carpenter, Bridget McNee

Making their debuts were

–    Sarah Riordan

–    Kelly Goodwin

–    Kate Brown

–    Lousie Strachan

–    Tayla Stanford

–    Cassy Van Rythoven

–    Amy Carpenter

–    Nikki Stanley

–    Georgia O’Neill

Louise Burrows

–    Longest serving player – 13 years

Players who won the 7s national championships who also played 15s

–    Shellie Milward

–    Amanda Singh

–    Tayla Stanford

–    Nikki Stanley

–    Shelley Bradshaw

–    Kelly Goodwin

Captain: Amanda Singh

Full team list:

First Name    Last Name    Position    Club

Stefanie    Stewart-Jones    1        Queanbeyan

Alisi        Wilson        2        Uni-Norths

Sharleen    Coomber        3        Uni-Norths

Shellie        Milward        4        Queanbeyan

Kate        Brown        5

Amanda        Singh        6        Uni-Norths

Georgia        O’Neill      7        Uni-Norths

Kamila          Wihongi        8        Uni-Norths

Kate          Henne        9        Uni-Norths

Carly        Hill        10        Queanbeyan

Tayla        Stanford    11        Jindabyne

Nikki        Ayers        12        Queanbeyan

Sarah        Riordan        13        Royals

Amy        Carpenter    14        Royals

Michelle    Perry        15        Royals

Cassy        Van Rythoven    16        Royals

Louise        Burrows        17        Royals

Bridget        McNee        18        Uni-Norths

Louise        Strachan    19        Leeton

Bec        Maher        20        Queanbeyan

Nikki        Stanley        21        Queanbeyan

Shelley        Bradshaw    22        Uni-Norths

Kelly        Goodwin        23        Queanbeyan