Plus500 Brumbies Name Team for Waratahs Trial

Plus500 Brumbies Name Team for Waratahs Trial

Newly appointed Captain, Christian Lealiifano, will lead the Plus500 Brumbies into action against the Waratahs in their final trial match at Goulburn Workers Arena on Thursday 7 February.

The Brumbies playmaker will line-up at flyhalf for the clash against the Brumbies oldest rivals, the final chance that Head Coach Dan McKellar will have to fine-tune his group ahead of the season opener against the Rebels next Friday evening.

McKellar has selected an exciting starting XV to take on the Waratahs and includes seventeen players on the replacements bench, all of whom will see significant minutes ahead of the Super Rugby kick-off.

Wallabies international hooker Folau Fainga’a comes into the side in the front row alongside James Slipper and Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, whilst there is an all-international second row pairing in the shape of Rory Arnold and Sam Carter.

Rob Valetini, Tom Cusack and Lachlan McCaffrey provide power and mobility in the backrow in a pack that is studded with experience and nous at the coalface.

In the back-line, Irae Simone starts at inside centre, continuing his partnership with Tevita Kuridrani that yielded dividends in the opening trial against the Rebels with a sharp and firing Kuridrani claiming a hat-trick of tires inside the opening forty minutes of a contest played in three thirds.

Wallabies star Tom Banks will wear the number fifteen jersey at full-back with pace and power outside him in the shape of Lausii Taliauli on the left wing and Kiwi speedster Toni Pulu on the opposite flank.

Fan favourite Henry Speight is named amongst a plethora of substitutes along with Pete Samu and new signings Murray Douglas, Vunipola Fifita, Jahrome Brown, Tom Wright and Bayley Kuenzle.

Kick-off at the Goulburn Workers Arena is at 6.30pm with Brumbies and Waratahs members allowed free admission on production of their membership cards. General admission for everyone else over-18 is $10 with under-18’s admitted free.


1. James Slipper

2. Folau Fainga’a

3. Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin

4. Rory Arnold

5. Sam Carter

6. Robbie Valetini

7. Tom Cusack

8. Lachlan McCaffrey

9. Joe Powell

10. Christian Lealiifano

11. Lausii Taliauli

12. Irae Simone

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Toni Pulu

15. Tom Banks


16. Josh Mann-Rea

17. Tom Ross

18. Vunipola Fifita

19. Blake Enever

20. Jahrome Brown

21. Matt Lucas

22. Wharenui Hawera

23. Chance Peni

5. Darcy Swain

6. Murray Douglas

8. Pete Samu

11. Andy Muirhead

12. Tom Wright

13. Len Ikitau

14. Henry Speight

15. Jordan Jackson-Hope 

18. Bayley Kuenzle

Photo Credit: Lachlan Lawson

We only accept payment via Visa and Mastercard. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes! Dismiss