Fijian Flavour for Queanbeyan Sevens

Fijian Flavour for Queanbeyan Sevens

The ever-popular Queanbeyan Sevens returns this weekend for its 10th edition as fourteen men’s teams and half a dozen women’s sides converge on David Campese Oval on Saturday for a feast of running rugby.

The defending Champions, the ACT Fijians, are back for more under a new name entering the competition as the Koroturaga, which means Capital, and aiming to take home the silverware once more.

They’ll be pushed all the way by a selection of teams who all have designs on the trophy, with Sydney Nadi back in the National Capital setting up the mouth-watering prospect of a possible repeat of the 2017 Men’s Grand Final when the Nadi met the ACT Fijians in an incredible final that concluded with singing and prayer.

The local club sides like Tuggeranong Vikings, Canberra Royals and Gungahlin Eagles are likely to be the main threats in the Men’s competition with the unbeaten Tuggeranong Viqueens, who stormed the local Women’s fifteen-a-side competition in 2018, the pick for the Women’s tournament.

With the tournament part of the Brumbies selection process for the National Sevens, the annual Queanbeyan event is a vital part of the rugby sevens calendar in the ACT and the surrounding region.

Many Sevens players have been identified through the local sevens competitions including current Australian captain Lewis Holland whose younger brother, and ACT age-grade representative Wyll Holland, will turn out for the Whites.

The first matches kick-off at 9.30am with the Women’s Final scheduled for at 3.20pm and the Men’s decider to follow at 3.40pm. It’s sure to be a popular and entertaining day of fast-flowing rugby.

We only accept payment via Visa and Mastercard. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes! Dismiss