The ACT Schools Boys XV began their defence of the Schoolboys National Championships they won in 2017 with a gritty 18-0 win over Queensland II as the 2018 edition of the annual competition got underway yesterday.

Davea TeoTeo and Corey Toole claimed the tries for the ACT in their tournament opener at St Ignatius College Riverview, whilst Brendan Jimenez landed two penalties and a conversion to complete a satisfactory start.

The team face an acid test of their credentials tomorrow morning when they meet NSW I at 10am with the match live on

Elsewhere, QLD I and NSW I put down markers on the first day of the Australian School Championship in Sydney in dominant opening wins.

Both sides ran in high scores to finish on top of their respective pools on day one, with two more days of pool play remaining.

QLD I beat a gritty WA 67-12, led by a four-try effort from winger Glen Vaihu. WA’s scrumhalf Reece Anapu was a shining light for his side on a tough afternoon, as they built some strong second-half pressure.

It was NSW I that dominated proceedings earlier in the day, with an 80-5 win over Victoria in their first outing. Flyhalf Tane Edmed steered the ship superbly for NSW I, who never really looked troubled by the Victorians.


08/07: Queensland II W 18-0 (T: Teoteo, Toole, C: Jimenez, P: Jimemez (2))

10/07: NSW I

12/07: Victoria

14/07: Finals


Apenisa Driti (Gungahlin College), Oliver Efkarpidis (St Edmund’s College), Zane Hogan (St Edmund’s College), Samuel Mickelson (Brindabella Christian College), Zachary Perrin (Daramalan College), Matthew Kingma (Daramalan College, Daryl Bailey (Erindale College), Rory Scott (Marist College), Joel Atkins Daramalan College, Isaac Crowe (Daramalan College), Corey Toole (Mater Dei Catholic College), Bryce Keane (Marist College), Abraham Peters (Gungahlin College), Thomas Haddad (Daramalan College), Brendan Jimenez (St Edmund’s College), Liki Chan-Tung (Hawker College), John Madjaga (Erindale College), Tony Eli (Erindale College), Alexavier Punou (St Edmund’s College), Davea TeoTeo (St Edmund’s College), Josiah Lealiifano (Gungahlin College), Reece Chin (Erindale College), Junior Tupou (St Edmund’s College).

We only accept payment via Visa and Mastercard. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes! Dismiss