John I Dent Cup draw released

John I Dent Cup draw released

The new season of John I Dent Cup rugby will commence on Saturday 7 April with three mouth-watering fixtures set to start the season in style.

Easts will kick-off the seventeen round competition by celebrating its 80th year with a clash against Uni-Norths Owls at Griffith Oval with the Owen Brown Memorial Cup up for grabs.

2017 Premiers Royals start their defence of the crown they memorably won with a victory over Wests by returning to the scene of that triumph at Viking Park where they will front-up to the Tuggeranong Vikings.

Meanwhile, Queanbeyan Whites begin their season at Campese Field with Gungahlin Eagles the visitors leaving Wests to have the bye in the first week.

Looking further ahead, the 2017 Grand Final replay between Royals and Wests will take place in Round 5 whilst the Worbac Cup is on the line in the Round 2 encounter between Gungahlin and Tuggeranong.

Easts and Queanbeyan will compete for the Peter ‘Froggy’ Morton Memorial Shield in Round 6 with the Whites also battling Uni-Norths in Round 12 for the Pat Matthews Cup. The return fixture between Royals and Vikings in Round 14 will boast silverware to the victor in the shape of the Allan ‘Wal’ Scollen Cup.

The Women’s competition begins on Saturday 14 April with five teams entered for the 2018 edition. Defending Premiers Royals start the season with a trip to Dowsett Oval to play ADFA with Gungahlin Eagles meeting Tuggeranong Vikings in the other match as the Uni-North Owls receive the bye.

The much-anticipated Grand Final re-match is scheduled for Round 5 as Royals meet Vikings in a replay of their epic denouement to the 2017 season.

Elsewhere, the First Division competition, a 12-team competition encompassing ACT and Monaro based clubs, will start on Saturday 7 April the same date as the Second Division commences, which encompasses a nine-team competition with South Coast and Monaro based clubs, along with the ACT based Gungahlin Eagles (Bald Eagles).


Premier Division

Round 1

Queanbeyan V Gungahlin @ Campese Field

Tuggeranong V Royals @ Viking Park

Easts V Uni-Norths @ Griffith Oval

Wests BYE

1st Division

Round 1:

Queanbeyan V Gungahlin @ Campese Field

Easts/RMC V Uni-Norths @ Griffith Oval

Tuggeranong V Royals @ Viking Park

ADFA V Wests @ Dowsett Oval

Cooma V Young @ Rotary Oval

Hall V Goulburn @ Hall Oval

2nd Division

Round 1

Batemans Bay V Bungendore @ Hanging Rock

Boorowa V Braidwood @ Boorowa Showground

Crookwell V Gungahlin @ Crookwell Memorial Oval

Taralga V Jindabyne @ Taralga Sports Field

Yass BYE

We only accept payment via Visa and Mastercard. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes! Dismiss