Competition Overview

Widely regarded as the world’s toughest provincial rugby tournament, the Super Rugby competition pitches the best players from New Zealand, Australia and South Africa together with five teams from each conference fighting for the win.

Launched in 1996 as the Super 12 competition, teams from Perth, Melbourne and Bloemfontein have since joined creating a tournament that runs between February and July ever year.
From 2011 the competition expanded to include the Melbourne Rebels, providing more home games and a longer format for organisers to work with.
Under the new format, each team plays the other teams in their domestic conference twice – both home and away – as well as matches against teams from further aboard.  
An expanded finals system was another result of the inclusion of the 15th franchise, with six teams rather than four now fighting it out at the business end of the season.
The format has allowed for more teams to join the competition, with expansions into markets like Asia and the Americas not out of the question.
Rebels rise to topple Brumbies in Canberra
The Aquis Brumbies have suffered back-to-back losses for the first time in 2015 after going down by five points at home losing 13-8 to the Rebels on Saturday. Read full article...
Fardy, Vaea among Brumbies best against Rebels
Scott Fardy has continued his strong early season form despite the fact that his Aquis Brumbies side eventually went down 13-8 to the Melbourne Rebels at GIO Stadium in Canberra. Read full article...
Changes to Brumbies for Rebels clash
A new look backline will take centre stage this Saturday night when the Aquis Brumbies face the Rebels in Canberra.
  Read full article...