ACT clubs welcome Brumbies Rugby stars

Eight new University of Canberra Brumbies players have been allocated to Canberra’s John I Dent clubs for the 2013 season with Easts picking up the majority of the talent on offer, on Tuesday.

The club which finished last in 2012 will benefit from the inclusion of six extra players including a host of the University of Canberra Brumbies new South African recruits like Etienne Oosthuizen, Clyde Rathbone, Stephan Van Der Walt and Ruan Smith.

One South African not heading to Easts is Mark Swanepoel, who will feature for the Royals when he is not needed for Brumbies duty.

David Pocock and Rathbone become Easts second and third high-profile recruits, along with Stephen Moore. During the off-season, two of Easts highest profile players in Jerry Yanuyanutawa and Ben Hand left for Europe providing an opening for the incoming Brumbies stars to fill the gap. 

All University of Canberra Brumbies players allocated to clubs in 2012 will remain with their original teams.

New allocations

Etienne Oosthuizen, David Pocock, Jordan Smiler, Ruan Smith, Stephan Van Der Walt and Clyde Rathbone – Easts

Josh Mann-Rea – Gungahlin

Mark Swanepoel – Canberra Royals