Vaea named at No 8 for Welsh clash

The University of Canberra Brumbies have named their team to take on Wales on Tuesday night, with several uncapped players earning their first provincial caps for the ACT.

The match is being played as part of the Castrol EDGE Welsh Tour. Tuesday’s clash is a tremendous opportunity for all selected players to not only press their claim for the regular 22-man squad but also to test themselves against international opposition.

Wales is the current Six Nations Champion, a title it claimed undefeated and with only three tries being scored against it.

ACT sides have managed to down the Welsh on their last two trips to Canberra (1978, 21-20; 1996, 69-30) but with the tourists reeling from their loss to the Wallabies on Saturday night, Tuesday’s clash shapes as one of the toughest in history.

Kimami Sitauti and Cam Crawford have both claimed wing spots for the match after turning in a series of quality performances in the John I Dent Cup. Other notable backs selections include Andrew Smith at inside centre, with Tevita Kuridrani running outside him in 13 and Robbie Coleman at fullback.

Looking for his first opportunity in a Brumbies jumper after defeating a series of injuries is Siliva Siliva (hooker), a former aged grade Australian representative who will come in to the action from the bench. Siliva joined the Brumbies fulltime squad at the end of 2011 but has been plagued by niggling injuries.

Scott Sio (tight-head prop) partners Anthony Hegarty (hooker) and Ruaidhri Murphy (loose-head prop) in the front row, with Ita Vaea at No 8, Colby Faingaa at open-side flanker and Peter Kimlin at blind-side flanker.

The Brumbies locks will be Leon Power and Ben Hand, with Hand also being handed the honour of captaining the team against the Welsh touring side. On the bench, Tuggeranong Vikings Beau Mokotupu will play back up to Ian Prior at scrumhalf while 2011 Australian Under 20’s representative JP Predaud will feature as the replacement prop.

Dylan Sigg (flanker), Fotu Auelua (No. 8) and Tom Cox (wing) will also be looking for opportunities from the bench.
Tuesday, 12 June
Castrol EDGE Welsh Tour
University of Canberra Brumbies v Wales
Canberra Stadium, Bruce
Kick-off: 7.30pm
Referee: Ian Smith

University of Canberra Brumbies

1.    Ruaidhri Murphy
2.    Anthony Hegarty
3.    Scott Sio
4.    Leon Power
5.    Ben Hand (c)
6.    Peter Kimlin
7.    Colby Faingaa
8.    Ita Vaea
9.    Ian Prior
10.    Zack Holmes
11.    Kimami Sitauti
12.    Andrew Smith
13.    Tevita Kuridrani
14.    Cam Crawford
15.    Robbie Coleman


16.    Siliva Siliva
17.    JP Predaud
18.    Dylan Sigg
19.    Fotu Auelua
20.    Beau Mokotupu
21.    Tom Cox
22.    Jesse Mogg