Team named to wrestle Rebels

University of Canberra Brumbies Head Coach Jake White has made changes to his backs and forwards for Friday night’s clash with the Rebels in Melbourne.

The most notable change was Colby Faingaa, who has been called onto the bench for the first time in 2012 after suffering an ankle injury in February.

Faingaa suffered the injury during the University of Canberra Brumbies second trial against the Reds in Townsville but has turned in a series of strong performances for his club side Tuggeranong Vikings which pre-empted the coaching staff to give him the nod.

Sam Carter, Dan Palmer and Ita Vaea have all been rested for the Rebels clash, with Leon Power, Fotu Auelua and Scott Sio earning selection. Power will start while Sio and Auelua will be thrown into the action from the bench.

In Palmer’s place Ben Alexander will switch to tight-head prop with Ruaidhri Murphy starting at loose-head prop.

Robbie Coleman has earned his second start for the year at fullback moving Wallaby Squad member Jesse Mogg to the wing and Henry Speight to the bench.

Other than Palmer, the remaining seven University of Canberra Brumbies players picked in the Wallabies Train-On Squad have been included in the team to play the Rebels.

The two teams have met in Melbourne just once, in Week Two 2011 where the Rebels claimed a one-point win after the bell off the boot of Danny Cipriani. It was the Melbourne club’s first competition win having entered the competition only seven days earlier with a loss to the NSW Waratahs.

The University of Canberra Brumbies have arrived in Melbourne and will hold their Captain’s Run on Thursday afternoon.

University of Canberra Brumbies v Rebels
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off: 7.40pm
Referee: Keith Brown

University of Canberra Brumbies
1. Ruaidhri Murphy
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. Scott Fardy
5. Leon Power
6. Peter Kimlin
7. Michael Hooper
8. Ben Mowen (c)
9. Nic White
10. Zack Holmes
11. Joe Tomane
12. Pat McCabe
13. Andrew Smith
14. Jesse Mogg
15. Robbie Coleman


16. Anthony Hegarty
17. Scott Sio
18. Fotu Auelua
19. Colby Faingaa
20. Ian Prior
21. Henry Speight
22. Tevita Kuridrani