Fardy picked for Chiefs tour

The University of Canberra Brumbies Head Coach Jake White has named his touring squad to take on the Chiefs in Tauranga this Friday night.

Having been part of the team’s first two wins, Scott Fardy has booked himself a seat on the tour and a chance to take on a Kiwi team for the first time in his short career.

A former Catchpole Medallist, Fardy returned to Australia at the end of 2011 having spent the last three years of his career playing in Japan. The junior Warringah star, who has shifted across to Wests in Canberra for 2012, was ready to aim up in one of the toughest rugby-playing countries on earth.

“I’ve been happy with the way the season has unfolded at this point. Personally it’s been great to get a couple of games under my belt and from the team’s perspective things are travelling nicely too,” Fardy said.

“To grab a win over in New Zealand is always a really tough assignment, and the Chiefs have been one of the form teams on the competition at this point.

“Moving into this week we need to be more precise than what we have over the first couple of rounds. If we can stay focussed there’s no reason we won’t return to Australia with a win.”

Fardy went achingly close to scoring a try against the Cheetahs, diving over the ruck only to be called back by the video referee. He was also a key performer for the University of Canberra Brumbies during the trial period and was solid against the Force.

He will be looking for another strong performance this Friday evening in what shapes as the University of Canberra Brumbies toughest match at this point of the 2012 Super Rugby season.

Having previously been a part of the Waratahs and Western Force Academy squads, Fardy is no stranger to touring. But the trip to Tauranga will be his first real crack at the top squad while out of Australia.

Touring squad: Ben Alexander, Sam Carter, Scott Fardy, Anthony Hegarty, Zack Holmes, Michael Hooper, Peter Kimlin, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, Pat McCabe, Jesse Mogg, Stephen Moore, Ben Mowen, Ruaidhri Murphy, Dan Palmer, Leon Power, Ian Prior, Andrew Smith, Henry Speight, Joe Tomane, Ita Vaea, Nic White.