Brumbies stars to feature in John I Dent Cup

As one of his first points of business as Brumbies Head Coach and supporter of rugby in Canberra, Jake White has announced that all contracted players will be allocated an ACT club to play and train with when they are not with the main team.

The move has been supported by Canberra’s club coaches and presidents who have grown tired of seeing quality talent hit the Hume Highway to Sydney to play in the Shute Shield once their Brumbies commitments are finished.

Players with prior history at a John I Dent club, like Robbie Coleman at Queanbeyan or Christian Lealiifano at the Vikings, will be sent back to their origins when they are not required by the Brumbies.

The remaining players have been sorted with considerations given to what the Canberra clubs need and the likely availability of the players.

With an extended Super Rugby season that almost eclipses the John I Dent Cup, the reality is that many players will not feature in the Canberra competition.

But clubs will still be given access to big name players, to attend team functions, award nights and game days.

White said the change had taken place so his players could be more easily managed while strengthening the local competition.

“I want people to be able to come and to a game here in Canberra and watch the best players in the ACT,” White said.

“There is no reason why we can’t have our top line players strengthening the local competition. It will be good for rugby in Canberra and I’m sure it will work to attract better players not only to the Brumbies but the John I Dent Cup as well.

"I'm not interested in having players travel back to Sydney to play with a club team on Tuesday and Saturday. It's about encouraging them to be a part of the ACT community.”

A full list of the player allocation can be found below.

Uni Norths
Forwards: Ben Alexander, Dylan Sigg
Backs: Tom Cox, Ian Prior, Joe Tomane,

Forwards: Fotu Auelua, Peter Kimlin, Scott Sio,
Backs: Pat McCabe, Jesse Mogg

Forwards: Sam Carter, Stephen Hoiles, Siliva Siliva
Backs: Kimami Sitauti, Matt Toomua

Forwards: Jono Owen, Leon Power,
Backs: Robbie Coleman, Tevita Kuridrani, Nic White

Forwards: Ben Hand, Michael Hooper, Stephen Moore, Jerry Yanuyanutawa
Backs: Andrew Smith

Forwards: Colby Faingaa, Ben Mowen, Scott Fardy
Backs: Zack Holmes. Christian Lealiifano

Forwards: Dan Palmer, Ita Vaea, Rory Murphy
Backs: Cam Crawford, Henry Speight