Rebels without a cause

The CA Technologies Brumbies have named their team to play the Rebels this Friday night at Canberra Stadium with two changes in the forwards due to Ita Vaea’s suspension and Mark Chisholm’s injury.

Mitchell Chapman will slide to the back of the scrum at No 8, while Henry Vanderglas will take his place at blind-side flanker in his first Super Rugby start.

Onto the bench come two new debutants in Sam Carter and Tom Boidin – Carter at lock and Boidin as a loose forward. Both players have been working hard with their club side, Sydney University and were key performers for the Brumby Runners earlier in the year.

Carter has been signed to the fulltime squad for the 2012 and 2013 seasons.

The backline remains the same with Head Coach Tony Rea pleased with McCabe’s switch to inside centre against the Reds.

“You could put Pat anywhere really and he is going to perform – we were very happy with his game against the Reds and expect more of that from him on Friday night,” Rea said.

With seven former CA Technologies Brumbies players having been named in the Rebels side, the match is sure to carry more than enough feeling.

A win from either side would also go a long way to avoiding the wooden spoon, with the CA Technologies Brumbies looking to jump even higher up the ladder over the Force into third place.

Also spurring the CA Technologies Brumbies onto greater things is the large number of players who have indicated this will be their last season in Canberra, with a big crowd expected to brave the cold to farewell their favourite players with a win over the Rebels.

CA Technologies Brumbies v Rebels
Canberra Stadium, Bruce
Kick-off: 7.40pm
Referee: Glen Jackson

CA Technologies Brumbies
1. Jerry Yanuyanutawa
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. Ben Hand
5. Peter Kimlin
6. Henry Vanderglas
7. Julian Salvi
8. Mitchell Chapman
9. Patrick Phibbs
10. Matt Giteau
11. Adam Ashley-Cooper
12. Patrick McCabe
13. Tyrone Smith
14. Henry Speight
15. Christian Lealiifano

16. Anthony Hegarty
17. Jono Owen
18. Sam Carter
19. Tom Boidin
20. Nic White
21. Robbie Coleman
22. Andrew Smith