Brumbies Rugby draws in Perth

It wasn’t a win, but it was the next best thing, with the CA Technologies Brumbies claiming a draw in Perth against the Western Force, 13 all.

The ACT team’s tenacious defence proved the deciding factor in a match that featured two tries and two penalties a piece.

Turnovers were a problem for the CA Technologies Brumbies, with the Force’s world-class back row picking up easy ball and making the visitors pay for isolation.

Lock Mark Chisholm celebrated his 100th Cap for the CA Technologies Brumbies, having a positive impact on the way the team went forward and defended its own line.

Scoring began early when Henry Speight found himself on the end of a classy backline move, diving across the line for his third try of the season.

The Fijian flyer started the match for the first time since injuring his ankle against the Hurricanes six weeks ago.

Also on returns to the team were Rocky Elsom and Jerry Yanuyanutawa. And while Yanuyanutawa had a solid game, Elsom suffered and ankle injury and will require scans on Monday to discover the extent and nature of his injury.

Following Speight’s try and a penalty to skipper Matt Giteau, the CA Technolopgies Brumbies were looking good with a solid 10 point lead.

But that margin was cut to three just minutes later, when Force lock Sam Wykes managed to chime in on the end of a backline overlap to cross the line untouched.

Wyke’s post-try planking celebration brought a cheer from the crowd and the West Australians were back in the match.

Further penalties to Giteau and James O’Connor pushed the scores out further, but despite several other shots at goal and attempted field goals, the deadline couldn’t be broken.

The CA Technologies Brumbies will now head back to Canberra where they will play the Stormers on Saturday night.

CA Technologies Brumbies 13 (Henry Speight try; Matt Giteau con, 2 pens) drew Western Force 13 (Sam Wykes try; James O’Connor con, 2 pens).

CA Technologies Brumbies
1. Jono Owen (replaced by Jerry Yanuyanutawa)
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. Ben Hand
5. Mark Chisholm (replaced by Peter Kimlin)
6. Rocky Elsom
7. Colby Faingaa
8. Julian Salvi (replaced by Michael Hooper)
9. Josh Valentine
10. Matt Giteau
11. Adam Ashley-Cooper
12. Christian Lealiifano (replaced by Robbie Coleman)
13. Tyrone Smith
14. Henry Speight
15. Pat McCabe

16. Anthony Hegarty
17. Jerry Yanuyanutawa
18. Peter Kimlin
19. Michael Hooper
20. Patrick Phibbs
21. Robbie Coleman
22. Andrew Smith