McCabe named Australian Rookie of the Series

CA Technologies Brumbies winger Pat McCabe has been named as 2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Rookie of the Series.
McCabe made his Investec Bank Super 14 debut in Week One against the Western Force and had the distinction of being the only CA Technologies Brumbies player to take part in every minute of every match during the 2010 season.

The criteria for the Rookie of the Series award dictates a player must have made his Investec Bank Super 14 debut (run-on or off the bench) during the 2010 season and be the player considered to have made the most outstanding contribution to their team during the year.

There were 18 players eligible for the award. The final six nominees were: Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Jake Schatz (Queensland Reds), Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs), Ben McCalman (Western Force), Colby Faingaa (CA Technologies Brumbies) and Michael Hooper (CA Technologies Brumbies).

In the other awards, George Smith’s four-year stranglehold on the Australian Player of the Series in the 2010 Investec Bank Super 14 was broken by Queensland Reds flyhalf Quade Cooper.

Cooper edged out his Reds halves partner, Will Genia, in the final polling and becomes the first No.10 to win the award outright after Stephen Larkham shared the prize with John Eales in 1998.

Leading journalists from around the country decided weekly on the top three Australian players from each Investec Bank Super 14 match involving the NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds, Western Force and CA Technologies Brumbies.

Their votes led to a 3-2-1 points allocation for each game.

Cooper received six man-of-the match honours through the Reds’ 13-match campaign and polled in eight matches overall to finish on 21 points.

He was one point clear of Genia with the Australian Test halfback collecting votes in 10 of Queensland’s 13 regular season games – he was also man-of-the match on three occasions – to finish on 20.

Cooper and Genia were well clear of third-placed James O’Connor from the Western Force, who finished with 15 points while the NSW pairing of fullback Kurtley Beale and winger Drew Mitchell rounded out the Top Five.

“It’s pretty special to be named as Player of the Series,” Cooper said after flying to Sydney to collect his award during The Rugby Club program on Fox Sports.

“This is an award that has been won by some great players. I know George Smith has featured a number of times so to be held in the same regard as him is something that means a lot.

“The award could have gone to any number of players.

“While I feel honoured to have been named, and I’m happy with the year I’ve had, it is as much a tribute to the work of our forwards and how they have gone this year.

“Without the platform they have provided, there is no way Will Genia, myself and the rest of our backline could have played the way we did.”

Cooper capped off a successful night by claiming the 2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Try of the Series for his touchdown against the Crusaders in Week Two, as judged by the Fox Sports commentary team.

2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Awards
2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Player of the Series: Quade Cooper
2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Rookie of the Series: Pat McCabe
2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Coach of the Series: Chris Hickey
2010 TNT Super 14 Referee of the Series: Stuart Dickinson
2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Try of the Series: Quade Cooper

2010 Investec Bank Super 14 Player of the Series
21 votes – Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds)
20 – Will Genia (Queensland Reds)
15 – James O’Connor (Western Force)
12 – Kurtley Beale (NSW Waratahs)
11 – Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs)

Player of the Series – Previous Winners
2009 – George Smith
2008 – George Smith
2007 – George Smith
2006 – George Smith
2005 – Chris Latham
2004 – Chris Latham
2003 – Chris Latham and Joe Roff
2002 – Stirling Mortlock
2001 – Phil Waugh
2000 – Chris Latham
1999 – Joe Roff
1998 – Stephen Larkham and John Eales

Rookie of the Series – Previous Winners
2009 – Laurie Weeks
2008 – Tyrone Smith
2007 – Lachie Turner
2006 – Benn Robinson
2005 – Peter Hewat
2004 – Nic Henderson and Drew Mitchell
2003 – Matt Giteau
2002 – Van Humphries
2001 – David Croft
2000 – Phil Waugh
1999 – Nathan Sharpe
1998 – Chris Whitaker

Coach of the Series – Previous Winners
2009 – Chris Hickey
2008 – Ewen McKenzie
2007 – Laurie Fisher
2006 – Ewen McKenzie
2005 – Ewen McKenzie
2004 – David Nucifora
2003 – David Nucifora
2002 – David Nucifora
2001 – Eddie Jones
2000 – Eddie Jones
1999 – John Connolly
1998 – John Connolly