Friend names squad to take on Reds

CA Technologies Brumbies Head Coach Andy Friend has named his squad to face the Queensland Reds in Darwin on Friday, with 88 cap veteran Mark Chisholm having been given the honour of leading the team as captain.

It will be the first time Chisholm has been handed the reigns of the team having been part of the CA Technologies Brumbies since 2003, winning a Super 12 Final and scoring 17 tries along the way.

“It’s a huge honour to be handed the Captaincy of the CA Technologies Brumbies for the trip to Darwin and the trial game against the Reds,” Chisholm said.

“To be given the opportunity to lead such a talented group of players means a lot to me and will be something I reflect back on when my career is over.

“Looking at Darwin we’ve got a big task on our hands taking on the Reds. But if we stick to what we have been putting together during preseason then Brumbies fans will see some exciting rugby in Darwin.”

Friend has also named five players in line for their first ACT State caps.

Clinton Sills, Liam Winton, Ita Vaea, Samu Wara and Henry Speight have all been named in the squad, while last year’s Rookie of the Year Pat McCabe earns his first start at fullback on Australian soil.

Friend said the new faces in the squad had earned their spots having impressed during preseason.

“The new guys in the team have worked hard during the preseason and their selection for the trip to Darwin is a result of their efforts,” Friend said.

“We have selected a good blend of youth and experience for the trial match against the Reds, which will allow the younger guys to look to our more senior players for leadership.

“It’s been a long preseason but everything is in place and we are ready to play. The boys are very much looking forward to getting to Darwin and facing the Reds on Friday night.”

CA Technologies Brumbies Squad to travel to Darwin on Wednesday

Forwards: Ben Alexander, Mitchell Chapman, Mark Chisholm ©, Colby Faingaa, Ben Hand, Anthony Hegarty, Michael Hooper, Salesi Ma’afu, Stephen Moore, Jono Owen, Dan Palmer, Juian Salvi, Ita Vaea, Liam Winton

Backs: Robbie Coleman, Franky Fainifo, Christian Lealiifano, Pat McCabe, Patrick Phibbs, Clint Sills, Andrew Smith, Tyrone Smith, Henry Speight, Matt Toomua, Josh Valentine, Samu Wara.