Vaea and Speight set for debut

CA Technologies Brumbies Head Coach Andy Friend has named his team to take on the Chiefs this Saturday night at Canberra Stadium.

Tongan born Ita Vaea at No 8 and Henry Speight on the wing will both make their Super Rugby debuts, while Dan Palmer makes his first for the CA Technologies Brumbies at tighthead prop.

Brumbies Rugby’s most experienced player – Matt Giteau – will captain the team from flyhalf. Giteau, who captained the team during Thursday’s trial against the Hurricanes, said he was looking forward to the Super Rugby season opener.

“We have a fantastic opportunity here as a playing group to leave a mark on the rest of the competition,” Giteau said.

“Saturday will be an especially exciting time for Ita Vaea and Henry Speight who are both set to make their Super Rugby debuts. Both players have shown during preseason and the trials they have the ability to match it with the best.

“It’s also a big night for Dan Palmer being his first official game for the Brumbies and for Robbie Coleman is his first start.”

The Chiefs match is also the first for Julian Salvi since returning from Bath last year. After leaving for England on 49 caps, Salvi will tonight earn his 50th.

“It’s something I will look back on in the future with some pride, it has taken a long time but I’m proud to have claimed 50 caps,” Salvi said.

“It’s exciting for me to be back in Canberra and playing for the Brumbies. I enjoyed my time in England but now I’m ready to put everything into this season and to put some wins on the board, starting with the Chiefs on Saturday night.”

Tickets are available through Ticketek. The CA Technologies Brumbies v Chiefs kicks-off at 7.40pm.

CA Technologies Brumbies
1. Ben Alexander
2. Steve Moore
3. Dan Palmer *
4. Ben Hand
5. Mark Chisholm
6. Mitch Chapman
7. Julian Salvi
8. Ita Vaea *
9. Josh Valentine
10. Matt Giteau ©
11. Francis Fainifo
12. Robbie Coleman
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper
14. Henry Speight *
15. Pat McCabe

*Denotes first CA Technologies Brumbies game

16. Huia Edmonds
17. Salesi Ma'afu
18. Stephen Hoiles
19. Colby Faingaa
20. Patrick Phibbs
21. Matt Toomua
22. Andrew Smith