Red-hot CA Brumbies retain Rod Macqueen Cup

 The CA Brumbies will hold onto the Rod Macqueen Cup for another year following their 52-13 win over the Queensland Reds at Suncorp Stadium tonight.

The ACT side crossed for seven tries to reverse their record 56-7 loss to the Hurricanes the previous week and keep their finals aspirations alive with two rounds remaining.
While pleased with his side’s performance, captain Stephen Hoiles, who crossed for two tries, said the CA Brumbies must now turn their attention to next week’s must-win match against the Blues.
“There’s a huge amount of belief in this group,” he said. “It’s been a challenging year but the biggest thing is not to sit here and pat ourselves on the back, just as we didn’t dwell [on our loss] against the ‘Canes. We move on as of tonight and we begin talking about the Blues tomorrow morning.”
With the Reds losing inside centre Berrick Barnes prior to kick-off, flyhalf Quade Cooper took up the goal kicking responsibilities and traded early penalty goals with Stirling Mortlock. The CA Brumbies winger completed a flawless kicking display that netted seven conversions and one penalty goal from as many attempts.
After dominating early territory and possession, the CA Brumbies converted the pressure into points in the 23rd minute when flanker Mitchell Chapman delivered a classic backhanded flick pass for fellow former Queenslander Gene Fairbanks to score his side’s opening try.
The visitors added a second 10 minutes later when lock Peter Kimlin burst through the defensive line allowing Patrick Phibbs to send Hoiles to the try line.
Phibbs and Kimlin combined again in the 33rd minute when the scrumhalf delivered a short pass for Kimlin to lope through next to the posts and extend their lead to 24-3 two minutes from the break.
Two tries to zippy Queensland scrumhalf Will Genia either side of half-time drew the home side to 24-13 five minutes into the second term, however, it would be the last of the Reds points with the CA Brumbies registering a further four tries in the second term.
The CA Brumbies’ four-try bonus point was secured 48 minutes in when prop Ben Alexander carried Van Humphries across the try line to add a third try to his season’s tally. The rampaging front rower appeared set to cross again after 63 minutes but opted to hand off to winger Adam Ashley Cooper who raced over for a 38-13 advantage.
Hoiles crossed for his second touchdown at the 75-minute mark before replacement winger Francis Fainifo blitzed through from 55 metres and turned Peter Hynes inside out to cross for his side’s final try with two minutes remaining.
The CA Brumbies return to Canberra tomorrow before facing the Blues in their final home match of the season on Saturday, 9 May.
CA Brumbies 52 (Stephen Hoiles 2; Gene Fairbanks, Peter Kimlin, Ben Alexander, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Francis Fainifo tries; Stirling Mortlock 7/7 conversions, 1/1 penalty goal) defeated Queensland Reds 13 (Will Genia 2 tries; Quade Cooper 0/2 conversions, 1/1 penalty goal) at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.
Referee: Ian Smith (Aus)
Half time: CA Brumbies 24-8
Crowd: 19,346
CA Brumbies
1. Ben Alexander
2. Stephen Moore 
3. Salesi Ma’afu
4. Ben Hand 
5. Peter Kimlin
6. Mitchell Chapman
7. George Smith 
8. Stephen Hoiles (c)
9. Patrick Phibbs 
10. Matt Toomua 
11. Adam Ashley-Cooper
12. Gene Fairbanks
13. Tyrone Smith
14. Stirling Mortlock
15. Mark Gerrard
16. Huia Edmonds
17. Nic Henderson
25. Sitaleki Timani 
19. Henry Vanderglas
20. Joshua Holmes
21. Afusipa Taumoepeau
22. Francis Fainifo
22. Francis Fainifo for 10. Matt Toomua (56th minute)
17. Nic Henderson for 3. Salesi Ma’afu (59th minute)
25. Sitaleki Timani for 5. Peter Kimlin (63rd minute)
16. Huia Edmonds for 2. Stephen Moore (65th minute)
21. Afusipa Taumoepeau for 15. Mark Gerrard (65th minute)
19. Henry Vanderglas for 6. Mitchell Chapman (67th minute)
20. Joshua Holmes for 9. Patrick Phibbs (67th minute)
1. Greg Holmes
2. Sean Hardman
3. Laurie Weeks
4. Van Humphries
5. James Horwill (c)
6. Scott Higginbotham
7. Poutasi Luafutu
8. Ezra Taylor
9. Will Genia
10. Quade Cooper
11. Brando Va’aulu
12. Charlie Fetoai
13. Digby Ioane
14. Peter Hynes
15. Mark McLinden
16. Saia Faingaa
17. Jack Kennedy
18. Adam Byrnes
19. Leroy Houston
20. Ben Lucas
21. Anthony Faingaa
22. Rod Davies
Investec Super 14 Week 13
CA Brumbies v Blues
Canberra Stadium, Canberra
Saturday, 9 May 2009