Tuggeranong clinch fourth straight title over Queanbeyan

The Tuggeranong Vikings have clinched their fourth title in as many years downing Queanbeyan 25-13 on Saturday. 

A hat-trick to UC Brumbies new recruit Nigel Ah Wong put the Vikings in an unbeatable position, despite a comeback to try to his professional teammate Robbie Coleman the Whites couldn’t haul their highly fancied opponents in. 

The Vikings were the competition’s best side all year, going on an amazing 11-game winning streak early in the competition and overcoming a late form slump which saw them lose the final round game to Gungahlin and the play-off to Queanbeyan. 

They now sit one championship short of the ACT club record of five, set by Royals between 1987-1991. 

Making the victory even more remarkable was that the Vikings were missing three of their best players.  No. 8 Tim Cree and fly-half Rod Iona watched from the stands with knee injuries while stand-in skipper Gareth Clouston will almost certainly miss the NRC after leaving the field before halftime. 

Despite playing on the losing side Queanbeyan Captain Dan Penca had an outstanding game and was eventually named Man of the Match. 

Tuggeranong Vikings 25 (Nigel Ah Wong 3 tries; Isaac Thompson 2 pen, 2 conv) bt Queanbeyan Whites 13 (Robbie Coleman try; HP Momsen 2 pen, 1 conv) at Vikings Park on Saturday.