Staniforth skippers Aussie 20s while, Powell, Perry get the nod

Tom Staniforth will Captain the Australian Under 20’s when the national side takes on Samoa in Brisbane on Wednesday.

Having made his Super Rugby debut with the UC Brumbies against the Reds less than a month ago, Staniforth is quickly fulfilling his potential as a world-class lock and a player Australian rugby will look to in the future.

Fellow ACT players Rowan Perry (flanker) and Joe Powell (scrumhalf) have also been given the nod for the Samoa match.

Australian Under 20s coach Adrian Thompson said individual performances in the upcoming clash against Samoa would be critical in finalising his squad.

“The entire squad has been working incredibly hard over the last week during camp and there are a number of key selection battles in a number of positions,” Thompson said.

“We have a number of strong leaders in the group but Tom Staniforth is well placed to lead the side into the match considering the excellent output he has put into previous camps and with the Brumbies as well.

“Samoa is always a physical opponent, although that challenge is ideal as we look to test ourselves ahead of the Championships later in the year.  

“I’m looking forward to seeing how individuals step up and take advantage of the opportunities they are being given in this game.”

The Australian Under 20s have been preparing for tomorrow’s match with a seven-day camp on the Gold Coast, which has included 34 players.

The National Australian Under 20s side to play Samoa Under 20s at Bond University on Wednesday 30 April is:

Australian Under 20s

1. Rory O’Connor (NSW)
2. Harry Scoble (WA)
3. Tom Robertson (NSW)
4. Tom Staniforth (c) (ACT)  
5. Jack Payne (QLD)
6. Sam Croke (NSW)
7. Rowan Perry (ACT)
8. Lolo Fakaosilea (QLD)
9. Joe Powell (ACT)
10. Andrew Deegan (NSW)
11. Brad Lacey (WA)
12. Luke Burton (vc) (WA)
13. Lalakai Foketi (VIC)
14. Sasa Tofilau (NSW)
15. Jonah Placid (QLD)

16. David Vea (NSW)
17. Cameron Orr (NSW)
18. Alifeliti Kaitu’u (QLD)
19. Ross Haylett-Petty (WA)
20. Pat Sio (NSW)
21. Angus Pulver (NSW)
22. David Horwitz (NSW)
23. Tom Banks (QLD)