Staniforth earns start against Reds

Tom Staniforth will make his Super Rugby debut at lock when the UC Brumbies head to Brisbane to turn the tables on the Reds this Friday night.

The 19-year-old Australian Under 20’s representative has been knocking on the door of Super Rugby for the last 18 months, having trained with the main squad since leaving Canberra Grammar in 2012.

Staniforth will be joined by Wallabies Stephen Moore and Scott Sio, who are back from injury to face the Reds and give the UC Brumbies an all-Wallaby front row. Staniforth comes into the side for Sam Carter, who has been ruled out through a knee injury.

Sio and Moore return to the front row for JP Smith and Siliva Siliva, who both move back to the bench for Ruaidhri Murphy and Josh Mann-Rea respectively in an otherwise unchanged team.

Director of Rugby Laurie Fisher said he was looking forward to seeing the UC Brumbies build again after a good win over the Blues in Canberra last weekend.

“We’ve got Steve Moore and Scott Sio which is a big boost for the side and we’ve got Tommy Staniforth coming in for his debut, so it’s certainly very exciting for him and for the rest of the guys as well,” Fisher said.

“He’s a quiet guy, but inwardly he’d be very excited. I sat down for a chat with him yesterday and he was very excited about the prospect of taking on two current Wallabies locks.

“He’s been with the team on a fulltime basis and has learned plenty over the last 18 months. I really do believe he will be more than up to it.

“We’ve shown improvement since the round one game against the Reds, where they were able to clinch a win. I’m sure you will see an improved performance from the Brumbies on Friday.”

Friday, 11 April
Reds v UC Brumbies
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-0ff: 7.40pm

UC Brumbies

1. Scott Sio
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander      
4. Scott Fardy
5. Tom Staniforth
6. Jordan Smiler
7. Jarrad Butler
8. Ben Mowen ©
9. Nic White        
10. Matt Toomua
11. Robbie Coleman
12. Pat McCabe   
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Joe Tomane
15. Jesse Mogg

16. Siliva Silva
17. Ruan Smith
18. JP Smith
19. Jack Whetton
20. Lachlan McCaffrey
21. Michael Dowsett
22. Andrew Smith
23. Christian Lealiifano