2014 John I Dent Cup Premier Division Draw

New 14 Round Competition Structure

The 2014 John I Dent Cup Premier Division Rugby Competition will adopt a new 14 round structure following the ARU’s announcement of the National Rugby Championships. Since 2011, the John I Dent Cup Competition consisted of 19 rounds, after opting to discontinue the previous competition structure of a pre season tournament and 14 rounds.
This year, clubs will play 12 matches (6 home, 6 away) with 2 individual byes and the potential to play some matches as curtain raisers prior to the UC Brumbies. Due to the shortened season, the competition will begin on Saturday 5th April and finish one week after the Super Rugby Final on Saturday the 9th of August. In the past, John I Dent Cup matches were played on the June Long Weekend, but this year it will be a competition bye, as will Easter which falls after 2 rounds of the competition.

The John I Dent Cup will continue to have a match of the round which will again be sponsored by SKINS. SKINS will also award the player of the match a SKINS prize pack for their efforts.

Another exciting aspect of the competition will be the inclusion of matches played at the new Gungahlin Enclosed Facilities. The ground will be equipped with coaching boxes, 4 change rooms, and an undercover grand stand. The Gungahlin Eagles will play 2 of their 6 home games there (Round 1 and Round 12).

Round 1 – John I Dent Cup

Western District Lions     vs.     Canberra Royals     @     Jamison Oval
Eastern Suburbs              vs.     Tuggeranong Vikings     @     Griffith Oval
Gungahlin Eagles            vs.     Uni-Norths Owls     @     Gungahlin Enclosed Oval
Queanbeyan Whites          Bye

Click here to view 2014 Competition Draw